2020 Fellowship Cohort
Ada Pinkston
Baltimore, MD
Alisha B. Wormsley
Pittsburgh, PA
Hadi Al Khatib
Berlin, Germany
St. Louis, MO
Patrick Weems
Sumner, MS
Quentin VerCetty
Montreal and Toronto, Canada
Sergio Beltrán-García
Mexico City, Mexico
Thalia Fernández Bustamante
San Francisco Xochicuautla, Mexico
Tomie Arai
New York City, NY
Ulf Aminde
Berlin, Germany

The Monument Lab 2020 Transnational Fellows are artists, activists, and civic practitioners who critically reimagine monuments in sites and spaces across North America and Germany. Together, they participate in dialogues around questions of how to memorialize the past, offering critical and creative memory interventions in public spaces. While Fellows work in different kinds of media and contexts, their respective projects address long-term inequities in monuments across the globe. 

The 2020 Transnational Cohort of Monument Lab Fellows, which includes memory workers from the USA, Mexico, Canada, and Germany, was selected by an international jury. Together with the Monument Fellows from 2019 they will participate in Shaping the Past, a partnership between Monument Lab, Goethe-Institut, and Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb), and multi-site exhibition and book project that addresses pressing issues around what, whom, and how to remember in public spaces. More information on the project can be found through our Shaping the Past project page and the Goethe-Institut web dossier.

Partners: Goethe-Institut, Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (German Federal Agency for Civic Education), Slought, and the Institute for Contemporary Art – Philadelphia

Supporters: Surdna Foundation and the Center for Public Art & Space at the University of Pennsylvania Weitzman School of Design.


Goethe Institut Logo            Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Logo

Guest Jurors

Joel Garcia
Artist, Arts Administrator and Cultural Organizer / 2019 Monument Lab Fellow

Sue Mobley
Colloqate Design

Michelle Angela Ortiz
Visual Artist, Muralist, Community Arts Educator

Jessica Solomon
Robert W. Deutsch Foundation

Geoff Ward
Washington University in St. Louis

Frances Wu Giarratano
Independent Curators International (ICI)