August 2, 2022 7:00pm 8:00pm
Re:Generation Roundtable – Reimagine
Zoom
Online

Join us for the third in a series of Re:Generation Roundtables with artists, educators, storytellers, and organizers centered around the question: Which stories belong in public? Through the theme of Reimagine, our panel will explore creatings spaces and means for healing through an intentional commitment to remember.

This talk will take place at 7pm Eastern / 6pm Central / 5pm Mountain / 4pm Pacific


Which stories belong in public? Re:Generation is a nationwide participatory public art and history project organized by Monument Lab. The project elevates people shaping the next generation of monuments reckoning with and reimagining public memory. We curated Re:Generation through an open call and distributed a total of $1 Million across ten project sites led by local collaborative teams of artists, educators, storytellers, and organizers. Each team will pursue a commemorative campaign rooted in the living history of a neighborhood, city, or region. Monument Lab’s Re:Generation kicks off with nationwide conversations, local exhibitions, and special events from May Day–Labor Day 2022. Re:Generation is supported by the Mellon Foundation’s Monuments Project.

The Monument Lab Re:Generation project sites:

  • Montgomery, Alabama – The More Up Campus
  • Tucson, Arizona – La Doce
  • Los Angeles, California – The Land Under the Plinth
  • St. Louis, Missouri – The Black HerStory Initiative
  • Queens, New York – Tandang Sora
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania – ConsenSIS
  • Cayey, Puerto Rico – Archivos del Caribe
  • Rapid City, South Dakota – Rapid City Indian Boarding School Lands Project
  • Matewan, West Virginia – Courage in the Hollers
  • Dinétah, Four Corners Region – Walking with Dinétah

For more information and updates on Re:Generation, join our mailing list and visit monumentlab.com for upcoming events.